• Register Today It's free!

Dual Exhaust on a 98 V8

Pemerling

Reaction score
City, State
Boston MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 XLT V8
hey i was wondering if any of u guys knew about puttin a dual exhaust on a 98 V8 xlt. i already went to one shop and the guy said two neew pipes and mufflers and bent and everything would go for around 400. anyone know if thats too expensive and wether it will look good
thanx
petey

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Thats a little on the steep side. Both shops I have worked for charged between $200 and $250 for duals.

really. 250. that sounds pretty sweet. so that includes new mufflers..or whatever.. also what about on the other side where the frame isnt notched for the exhaust. am i gonna have problems with the leafsprings pinching the pipe ?

$400??? good god! I got a flowmaster 50 with duals for $275 here.. its worth up to $350 I'd say, but $400 seems sort of stretch, I'd make sure its REAAALLY what you wanna do before you fork over that much cash. overall, it sounds good, runs better and looks good on the vehicleI'm very happy with mine and would recommend duals at any rate, but just do some investigation to make sure you get exactly what you want, you hafta make syure you're satisfied for that kind of money.

if you have a high "fidelity" sound system on the computer, you can get what I think is a pretty accurate before and after of my exhaust on the links below:

before
http://members.home.com/jking24/exhaust.wav

after
http://members.home.com/jking24/flow.wav

good luck :)