dual in dual out mufflers? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

dual in dual out mufflers?

is there a dual in dual out muffler that i can weld onto my truck?

i'm going to cut out my rear cats and redo my exhaust so that i can make it a bit louder and make room for my rollpan. right now i have a flowmaster 50 series suv with 3" single pipe.

i thought i read somewhere that someone made a dual 2.25 in muffler with dual 2.5 outs (which is what i want). ideally it would be a multiple chamber muffler that would equalize the flow between the two sides (like an x pipe).

then i am going to end the exhaust somewhere near the rear of the truck where its not visible unless i have the rear aired up.

please help me find what i need so i can order it on the net.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

my dual in dual out SS magnaflow has an internal x pipe. 2.5 dual in, 2.5 dual out.

how do you like it?

isn't the pipe before the mufflers on our truck 2.25 (not that i can't figure out how to make it fit)

would you highly recommend your muffler to someone else? and do you have a part number?

the stainless steel model # is 14468. you could just go with the aluminized version which is cheaper but i dont have the part # off hand. ive only had the muffler on for a month or so. i likeit. if i had the option of doing the job again, id keep the muffler, but go with 2.25 piping back. i feel like i lost a bit of backpressure and therefore some torque, but gas mpg has gone up. i think you'd be better off with 2.5 inch piping anyways because of the mods you have done.

i dont know if i can recommend or not recommend this muffler, because i cant compare it to anything else. but i do have the feeling that magnaflows are very well tested and arent cheaply made. im def happy with my setup.