EGR and Alt. question's when swapping from an 88 to 98 5.0. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

EGR and Alt. question's when swapping from an 88 to 98 5.0.

kpj

Reaction score
City, State
Berwick, ME
Year, Model & Trim Level
91 Explorer
I have a 88 5.0HO from a Mustang currently sitting under the hood of my jeep. I blew up the bottom end and found a low mileage 97/98 Explorer motor that I am planning on swapping in. I have a few question's regarding the differences between the two.

First question: EGR. I pulled the stock Explorer TB and 90* elbow and am planning on running the Mustang TB. Will the computer act up if I don't hook up the EGR? or is there kit that I can do away with it all together? I know it won't gain me much, if anything, but I don't have all the parts of either EGR setup. The Explorer EGR has a "old school" EGR style valve off to the side of the 90* elbow.

Second question: Alternator. I have a one wire Powermaster alternator on the 88 that I would like to make work on the 98. I see there is a different bolt pattern, so does someone offer an adapter plate for this? OR, does anyone offer a 1 wire setup alternator for this application? Also, does anyone have a close up pic of the alternator bracket to make sure I have all the pieces?

Third question: Belt routing. Does anyone have a link or pic of how the belt is supposed to be run on the 98? I will look again, but I don't believe I saw a mount for an alternator, so preferably with out would be the best. I think it only has the powersteering pump, water pump, crank pulley, and alternator bracket.

Thanks for any and all help I can get!!!

Ken

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Wait wait wait slow down.
You will still be using the 88 HO computer and fuel injection correct?