Emergency Braking - Tranny Downshifts? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Emergency Braking - Tranny Downshifts?

ScooterMcGee

Reaction score
City, State
Shucktown, MS.
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Police Interceptor
This weekend I had the pleasure of slamming on the brakes with my new to me 2013 PIU. I've been driving it for a couple of months but had not done this yet. While I'm at speed on the interstate, a fellow that was stopped on the emergency shoulder, decided to pull back on the road right in front of me. I stomped on the brakes.

After immediate deceleration to about 35MPH?, I released the brake pedal and found that the transmission had quickly downshifted to maybe 2nd? and RPM's were about 3,600.

I'm wondering if that was programmed to help the braking or to help catch a bad guy, keeping the RPM's in the power band for a hole shot blast off? I've had many cars over the years, admittedly few from this millennium, and none have ever downshifted like that, some have even stalled out. But none have downshifted like that. Very pleased with that.

Just one more reason to love this vehicle.:D

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Yes! Thats part of the interceptors logic, i call it persuit mode. Youll also notice that when you accellerate hard, itll keep it in gear longer so the power is there when you get into it again.

^ PCM calibration for the PIUs likely went into pursuit mode due to the aggressive maneuver.

i call it persuit mode

Not just you, Ford calls it "Pursuit Mode".