Engine maintenance (Carbon build up etc), Gas Additives | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Engine maintenance (Carbon build up etc), Gas Additives

1995E

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Maryland
Year, Model & Trim Level
95 + 11 Ex both XLT
So I've been studying about fuel quality and trying to find out what is best for the car like Shell or BP, does it really make a difference what brand of gasoline I pump? The only thing should be different is the additives right? I wonder if depending on which brand of gasoline would affect my engine's lifespan and MPGs.

I also am having the urge to buy injector cleaners, fuel additives to remove carbon from the system. Is there really a need for all those? If I do, at what mileage intervals should I do it in?

I've never really used those on my 95 Explorer so I'm new to this and I'm not sure about if it's really needed at all.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

there is so much debate over additives its mind boggling. most car manufacturers recommend NOT using additives in your crankcases or fuel. i dont use additives myself, motor oil is made so well these days, as long as you are up to date with all of your regular maint. you should be good. however, if you got your rig used, and are not sure of its service history, additives might help. i should say that i do use an engine flush that i pour into the crank case and run for a few minutes before draining the oil. i do this every other oil change. just my honest opinion, im not a mechanical guru by no stretch, but i put a ton of miles on my cars and trucks, and this approach has always worked for me.

I agree with LONO100. I wouldn't put any additives in your tank. As long as you buy decent gas and change your fuel filter at the recommended intervals I wouldn't worry.