Engine running hot and no heat inside - Thermostat? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Engine running hot and no heat inside - Thermostat?

Forder

Reaction score
City, State
West Point, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 XLT, '05 Altima 3.5
This past week, my ol'94 has been running hot (almost past the "L" on "NORMAL" on the gauge) when sitting idle and there's no heat coming out of the vents. But when I start driving highway speeds, the temp gauge goes back down to the middle in the normal operating area and the in-cab heat comes on and boy is it HOT! Almost burns your hand if you hold it to the vent for too long.

So I'm guessing that the thermostat is stuck closed or something? I thought if anything they would fail-open causing the engine to run cool, but I'm no expert which is why I'm asking you all ;). I don't know how the thermostat would affect the HVAC either though. My dad says they may be separate issues (heater core and thermostat).

Thanks in advance for any help! I hope to fix everything this weekend. I need to replace the fuel filter and flush the coolant anyways since I haven't done that in the past decade I've owned this thing, lol. Any good write-ups on the fuel filter? I see one for a '96 on here, but not for first-gens.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

This past week, my ol'94 has been running hot (almost past the "L" on "NORMAL" on the gauge) when sitting idle and there's no heat coming out of the vents. But when I start driving highway speeds, the temp gauge goes back down to the middle in the normal operating area and the in-cab heat comes on and boy is it HOT! Almost burns your hand if you hold it to the vent for too long.