• Register Today It's free!

Flash Drive Volume Names

Quackinup

Reaction score
City, State
Ventura CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2011 XLT
I was excited to see that I could change the volume names on my flash drives, allowing me to pull up each one by name (rather than USB1 and USB2). For example, one could be named Country an the other Rock. Then I can pull them up by voice using those names. However, a problem has developed, I think when I did a Master Reset to clear another problem. The system re-indexed the drives after the reset, but for some reason saw them as new drives, so now when I do voice command to play Rock, sync says there are two of them and asks me to select one. Choice 1 will let me play the music and choice 2 says that drive isn't installed. How do I delete the phantom drive? Would a fuse pull accomplish this? Clearly a reset won't since I'm pretty sure that's what caused it.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I was excited to see that I could change the volume names on my flash drives, allowing me to pull up each one by name (rather than USB1 and USB2). For example, one could be named Country an the other Rock. Then I can pull them up by voice using those names. However, a problem has developed, I think when I did a Master Reset to clear another problem. The system re-indexed the drives after the reset, but for some reason saw them as new drives, so now when I do voice command to play Rock, sync says there are two of them and asks me to select one. Choice 1 will let me play the music and choice 2 says that drive isn't installed. How do I delete the phantom drive? Would a fuse pull accomplish this? Clearly a reset won't since I'm pretty sure that's what caused it.