Flowmaster Catback install | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Flowmaster Catback install

jgilbs

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Naperville, IL(home)/Iowa City, IA(school)
Year, Model & Trim Level
92 Eddie Bauer
So I got my Flowmaster Force II Catback kit from Summit. Ive read some posts regarding installing it, some people have said they were able to install it without jacking up the truck, others said they needed to remove the shock mount. If I jack up the rear tires(and chock the fronts) and stick my jack stands on the axle tube, will I be able to remove the old exhaust? Or will I actually need to take off the shock mount?

Also, I got the catback kit, does anyone know if i still need an exhaust gasket for the cat pipe connection?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I used a cut off wheel to cut the rear tail pipe off at the muffler. I needed to cut it up for the trash pickup anyway. The pipes should be easy to cut with any metal cutting blade (sawsall etc). Since the new system is in several pieces you will not need to jack up the truck to install it. I did not remove any shock mounts and jacked up my XLT just enough to remove the rear wheel. If you don't cut the pipes then you will need to jack up the trucker highter in order to swing the old stuff out the of the way.

If your old one looks ok you could try getting away with re-using it. I bought a new exhaust donut gasket ($9) since my old one was MIA...You may need to cut off a few inches from the front pipe as the exhaust layout came in 2 configurations. The FlowMaster instructions cover this really well.