Front End Clunk.......like everyone else | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Front End Clunk.......like everyone else

tsilney

Reaction score
City, State
montgomery, il
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 Explorer Sport
I am new to this but I was hopeing someone could help. I have checked through tons of posts on the famous front end clunk. I have a 2001 Eddie Bauer 5.0 awd with 89k. And every time I acclerate, brake, or hit a bump I get a clunk/creeking right under the drivers floor panel. I have checked and/or replaced the following.

Both Upper and Lower ball joints
Sway Bar links
Sway bar bushings.
Removed front drive shaft and test drove (Still clunks in front)
Greased slip yoke on rear drive shaft, no change
Checked Brake calipars they are fine
Torsion bars/pads fine. No kevlar on mine since its a 2001.
Tie rod ends....no play I am going to replace inners just for the sake of it since I got them for 14 bucks..

I have had my wife drive over bumps while I listen. Cant pinpoint it. The one thing I did notice was that when the rear tires hit a bump, the clunk still comes from up front. Does anyone know what that means?
I have read tons of posts and this site is AWESOME with tons of information. Any help would be great.

Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

How does the transmission mount look? Is it level,side to side, or kind of sloped?

Wow, I just checked it. It looks striaght but there is a bolt missing from where the mount goes into transmission. Thanks for the advice. I will by a new bolt in the morning and hope that this is what it is.

Check your t case mounting bolts, while you are under there. Mine worked loose, and was making an audible clunking.

Check your t case mounting bolts, while you are under there. Mine worked loose, and was making an audible clunking.