Fuel delivery issue, possibly electrical? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Fuel delivery issue, possibly electrical?

JG88

Reaction score
City, State
Philadelphia, PA/Long Island, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
97 Explorer Sport 2DR 4WD
Hey everyone,

This is my first post here, but I've been utilizing the site for about five years now, and the information provided on these forums has been invaluable. Thanks to everyone for unknowingly helping me these past few years!

Currently, I am having an issue with fuel getting to my engine, and I can't seem to find the source of the problem (possibly because I don't want to admit the fuel pump may need to be replaced because it's a PITA). I have a 97 explorer sport 2-door 4wd.
Backstory:
For about a year now my ex has had an intermittent problem where it wouldn't start after being driven for a while. This usually only happened when I took a 120-mile trip from Long Island to Philadelphia and pulled over in a rest stop. After turning the car off, it would rough idle and then stall when I tried to start it back up, and I would have to wait a half-hour for it to cool down before it would run fine. After it started, it would run like a champ the rest of the way home.
This summer I put a fair amount of unrelated work into the vehicle that it had needed for some time (new radiator, heater control valve, serpentine belt, ECT sensor, plugs/wires, fluids flush/change, air filter, and an audio system). After finally getting all that done the no-start happened more frequently, and within two weeks started happening every time I would drive it for more than 10 minutes. Sometimes spraying the throttle body with ether would get it to start; other times I wasn't as lucky.