fuel leak after trying to jump start | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

fuel leak after trying to jump start

jwilbur1

Reaction score
City, State
austin, tx
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 xlt
Newbie here, I screwed up the cable connections while trying to jump start my wife's Maxima. Now I have the fuel leak which I recall was the reason for a recall a few years back. I had the + cable on the battery terminal of the Explorer and the - cable on a bolt near the front left side of the intake manifold, which is where the leak is.

Is there an easy fix for a pseudo shade tree mechanic?

This is a 1999 Explorer 4.0 SOHC. Thx!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm not sure that the crossing of the jumpers is directly related to the fuel line leak, but the only way to repair a fuel line leak is to replace the leaking line. Don't try glues or patches of a fuel line - locate the correct line and replace it. The safety of the vehicle and passengers is critical in this area - and a leaking line can easily cause a terrible fire.

Perhaps someone will post up with the specific steps to replacement of the line. I haven't done that job myself, but it would fall into the range of normal mechanic's skills I expect. You may need to have the special tools to remove the fuel line clips if that is a part of the procedure and they are available at almost any auto parts store for under $10.

Turns out the bolt I used for a ground holds the bracket for the supply and return fuel lines. I suspect now that the heat generated trying to jump my wife's car caused the leak.

Thanks for the info!

I highly suggest that you praise God for extending your life by another day and get the line fixed ASAP.

Wow, jumper cables and leaky fuel lines... :eek: :eek: