Full throttle issues. Advice please. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Full throttle issues. Advice please.

Metta

Reaction score
City, State
UK
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 4.0 V6 Auto SOHC
Hey guys,

So I recently bought an explorer 1998 4.0 SOHC UK version with some small issues. I’m a mechanic and got most of them done such as idle valve, inlet gaskets upper and lower and few other things.

From day one I’ve had an issue with full throttle bogging out even at idle. ‘Overfueling I think’ so even at idle when half throttle car revs fine as normal right up the Rev range and back down, now when you open the throttle up fully I get spluttering. I have a video attached, the plugs have been changed 2 months back under a full service including fuel filter. The EGR is blanked off from previous owner but I don’t believe this would cause the issue.

Any help and advice would be perfect.

Attachments

• IMG_2394.MOV
    8 MB

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

How do the fuel trims look? Does it do this under load?

MAF clean? When have the intake manifold gaskets last been replaced? Fuel pressure?

How do the fuel trims look? Does it do this under load?

MAF clean? When have the intake manifold gaskets last been replaced? Fuel pressure?

As per previous post it only does it under load and when stationary only in full throttle, I have done the inlet gaskets 2 weeks ago.

MAF I’ve cleaned with Electrical cleaner and tried another, I’ve not tested fuel pressure as I don’t have a tool for that, I may be able to load live data on the diagnostics tho.

You won’t get a fuel pressure reading from the OBD.

Pretty sure it’s not a DOHC.

You won’t get a fuel pressure reading from the OBD.

Pretty sure it’s not a DOHC.