• Register Today It's free!

Gear Patteren Advice!!!!

xsportx

Reaction score
City, State
Brampton, ON
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 sport
OK!! I started setting up my gears yesterday, its my first time so i wanted a little bit of advice to tell me if I'm on the right path. The gears are 5.13's and axle is a 79 Bronco Dana 44 HP. I've ran three patterns, here they are in order...

Coast Pattern #1
DSCF0137.jpg

Drive Pattern #1
DSCF0137.jpg

Coast Pattern #2
DSCF0154.jpg

Drive Pattern #2
DSCF0166.jpg

Coast Pattern #3
DSCF0172.jpg

drive Pattern #3
DSCF0177.jpg

I think that I'm almost there, tomorrow I am going to add maybe another .010 to bring the pinion up a bit more and see how that works

Also just wanted to check and make sure i got the dial indicator set up proper
DSCF0131.jpg

Let me know what you guys think!!!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Pinion needs just a little bit more, might not need a whole .010. Whats your backlash set at?

I figured i would add the .010 see where it takes me and go from there. Since its my first gear set up i dont mind setting it up and taking it apart a couple more time then i have to because i want to see how moving shims affects the gear pattern.

Backlash is set at .007

Before you pull the pinion bearing off to re-shim it try backing off on the backlash. Try to get it between .008-10 and then re-do your pattern. I think the gears are just too tight to give a nice wide pattern on the teeth

Thanks!! I'll give it a try tomorrow..

Post more pictures with your changes in shims and patterns. Would be good for several others I'm sure to see what it does to the pattern as well.