• Register Today It's free!

GEM swap

blue88b2

Reaction score
City, State
Dallas, Oregun
Year, Model & Trim Level
97 explorer
does anybody see a problem with swaping a GEM from a 98 4 door 4x4 explorer... into my 97 4 door 4x4 ex.

I did a bw 1354 manual t-case swap, and have an Overdrive light flash only in low range because in 97 there are speed sensors in the 4405 t-case. but not in 98, so my thoughts where to get a GEM from the model year that doesn't read from those sensors. thanks for the help!

-Jas

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

or even swap in a 96 GEM for that matter...

Maybe. Somewhere in there we had a change to the VSS signal. I believe it was 98...but I could be mistaken. I would doubt the old style GEM would work properly with the new style VSS. But that is nothing more than a WAG and I have no experience or data to back it up.

well i picked up a GEM from the local wrecking yard tonight, so for $35 it's worth a try.

Ford made a lot of changes from 1997 to 1998, don't swap GEM's from across those years. The GEM controls many things, something will not work right.

well i just swaped in the new GEM it's from a 98 4door with the same 4l v6 and 5speed auto. it took about 15 minutes.

Code on my 1997 GEM is 14b205-bc
Code on new 1998 GEM is 14b205-cc

Seems to work fine, cruise control, gages, door locks, windows, mirrors, defrost and wiper, radio, lights, seatbelt and airbag and door ajar lights still light on startup. remote start and keyless entry still work fine. Drives and shifts fine up to highway speed and back with no irregular shifts or warning lights. havn't tryed low range yet, but we'll see how it goes soon.

-Jas

Ford made a lot of changes from 1997 to 1998, don't swap GEM's from across those years. The GEM controls many things, something will not work right.