Going to buy an '03 Aviator, any tips or info? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Going to buy an '03 Aviator, any tips or info?

Robman

Reaction score
City, State
Ontario
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 Sport 4.0L OHV 5spd
Hello! I'm new to the 3rd gen side of the forums as most of my participation has been in the 2nd gen portion but there's a 2003 black Lincoln Aviator that I'm looking to purchase around these parts.

They are based off the 3rd gen explorer so I wondered if anyone has any tips or need to know information that would be helpful to me. The aviator is the kittyhawk special version with black leather seats(heated/cooled) and badging. I see these aviators come with the mustang dohc 4.6 putting out 302 hp/300tq and use the dreaded 5r55e or s trans, the guy says it's been replaced not long ago. It has higher km's on it at 330 000km but I'll be getting it for $1000 Canadian. He says he's had the brakes done, pads/rotors/calipers all around and replaced the rad and fixed the air conditioning and has 4 michelin tires he'll throw in for $200 more dollars. I've heard it run and there's a small manifold tick at start up but seems to go away when it idles down. The front diff has a small leak but he's had the rear diff seals done recently.

I like the way it looks, especially the interior. Anyway that's about all I know about it for now. I'm going to get it to a mechanic for a safety before I buy it to make sure it will be worth buying.

Just make sure it runs smoothly. They have valve issues that show up with higher milage.