• Register Today It's free!

has anybody heard of....

autodrjr

Reaction score
City, State
guelph, ontario
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 sport
i was just told by my special order pars guy that he cant get my lift shackles i wanted but could get me lowering shackles for a chev pick up and said he saw on an explorer forum they would work. has anybody heard of this, is there a thread on it
my truck is a daily driver and i work as a mechanic so i like it to be right, no noises or bad fitment..

help....

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have never heard of that but that dont mean it isnt true. Where are you going for parts? The lift shackles that are on mine sport came from ford and they had them in stock.

from a place called performance improvements here in ontario.. i wasnt aware ford offered lift shackles, is there any way you have a part number? how mutch lift?

I dont have the part number because I didnt own the explorer at the time but I will look into it. I live with the former owner. It is only lifted three inches what size lift are you going for??

nothing big, 2 or 3 inches
just want to set it off from the rest of the sports in this town, bit bigger tires would be nice. more of an agressive look

Ford sells different length stock shackles to deal with different ride heights due to tire size differences. These aren't really lift shackles, they are just different length stock shackles. If you really want a good set of lift shackles, a company called Warrior Products makes them. Part # is WAR-153. Do a search on this site and you'll find all sorts of information on them.