Hello! I am in need of advice.

Thunder Bunny

Reaction score
City, State
Woodruff
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002, Honda Odyssey EX
Hi all,
I am new here and looking for some advice. I am in need of another vehicle and am very interested in purchasing an Explorer. Whatever I end up purchasing, I need it to be very reliable for my family and I. The years I have been looking at are the 05' to 07' models, with the EB trims being my favorite. So is there any advice you guys can give on these models? Are these models reliable? And are there specific things I should be looking for when inspecting and test driving these vehicles. Something that should be noted is that I am not a mechanic and generally don't do any work on my vehicles. However, I do have some mechanic friends that do work for a much better price than your average shop. Is an Explorer a vehicle I should even consider? Thanks in advance!

If this post needs to be moved to a different section, that is fine. I wasn't exactly sure where to post it.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Get a 2009 or 2010 V8. The reasons are:

• The V8 is more reliable than the V6 and doesn't have the timing chain issues.
  • The V8 doesn't require removal of the engine to replace the chains and guides, if necessary.
  • The V8 has the six speed transmission which is more robust and reliable than the five speeds used in the V6s.
  • The V8 gets the same gas mileage as the V6 and has a good bit more power.
  • The 2009 and 2010 V8 models have the newer design spark plugs so the chance of breaking them during replacement is lower.
  • The wiring insulation appears to be better and does not deteriorate like it can on the 2006-2008 models.