Hello - I'm excited to be a new member. Have owned my '05 Explr. 4.0 SOHC since 2007. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Hello - I'm excited to be a new member. Have owned my '05 Explr. 4.0 SOHC since 2007.

JustBill

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Explorer XLT
I have a issue that has me scratching my head BIGTIME. Let me say that I spend 14 years in the tire and auto service business. I was never an engine tech, but I was a mechanic (primarily brakes, front-end and suspension. I have been diligent on maintenance with this vehicle. So here's what's happening:

About a week ago I had a "no-crank", (so NO start) issue. This was the first start attempt in the morning and it did follow a night of our coldest weather of the season...low of about 35 deg. Lights and other accessories worked, but no sound (clicks) at all. I tested the battery, it was basically fully charged..but I charged it for a bit anyway....performed load test and it passed with no issues. Even did back to back load test and it read perfect.