HELP!! Engine Stalls Out At Traffic Light! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

HELP!! Engine Stalls Out At Traffic Light!

Jmanosane

Reaction score
City, State
Sacramento
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 sport
Hi there I am new to this whole forum thing. I really need help with my 2001 Explorer Sport. Recently in the past month my explorer would stall out at a stop happen 5 or more times now. It seems to run fine but sometimes when i do a complete stop at a red light the engine dies and I have to put it in park and restart it. I am a newbie so I have no idea where to start. I also noticed that the engine seems to want to die at idling. The engine seems to rev up and than its starts to go quiet and than revs up again and go quiet. I don't have much miles on it and when I took it to the ford dealership they said it could be many things and estimated that it would cost 2000 to repair. I am a college student and don't have this kind of money. So any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance guys!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome! First thing I would do is clean or replace your IAC valve. You can do a search and find instructions on cleaning it. But in my professional medical opinion, it's an IAC problem. :D Good luck!

If it doesn't seem to want to die in park, that $2,000 may be for a transmission rebuild. Your converter may be locking up at idle. Possibly you could get away with a valve body rebuild for about $800. Your options are very limited if you don't want to get dirty.

Have you had the engine condes pulled to see if they reveal anything? Most Autozones will pull the codes for free. Get the codes and post them on this forum.