Help me turn my 2000 Sport 4x4 into Pre Runner! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Help me turn my 2000 Sport 4x4 into Pre Runner!

tuckonline

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Sport 4x4
Hi, I just got a 2000 Ford Explorer Sport 4x4. I am looking to make it a pre-runner. I have very little knowledge on this, and am looking for some help. Heres a pic of it, it is completely stock except for the new tires I just put on it.

What is the first thing I should start on? What parts will I need to buy? Prices and places where I can get them? Im a college student and on a budget so I cant be spending too much cash. Thanks for the help!

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a35/tuckonline/explorer.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

pre runner and budget dont really go together
The sport has a shortish wheel base for pre running
but you can build it into a very capable truck

your truck, although it is a 2 door, shares the same suspension as the 4 door models 95-2001, so try looking around at some 4 door 4x4 built trucks on this forum.

Right now Dixon Brothers are the only kit on the market for our front 4x4 IFS that is a true bolt on long travel front suspension

pre runner and budget dont really go together
The sport has a shortish wheel base for pre running
but you can build it into a very capable truck

your truck, although it is a 2 door, shares the same suspension as the 4 door models 95-2001, so try looking around at some 4 door 4x4 built trucks on this forum.

Right now Dixon Brothers are the only kit on the market for our front 4x4 IFS that is a true bolt on long travel front suspension

Thanks, Ill check it out right now.

Also. will 2000 Ford Ranger parts fit my Explorer?

yes, a Ranger lift will fit in the front- You'll need to do an SOA in the back though.