Help w/ diff bushings: Ford 8.8 into RX7 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Help w/ diff bushings: Ford 8.8 into RX7

frijolee

Reaction score
City, State
Pasadena CA
Greetings and Saluations,

Funny how car projects lead us to all ends of the internet isn't it? Short story... I work as a mechanical engineer in Southern California and drive a Chevy LS1 powered Mazda RX7 rocking Nissan 350z brakes.

I'm looking to upgrade my IRS to the excellent 31 spline 8.8 diff found in the explorers (what's one more manufacturer after all?) This is being done both to help my available gear ratios, add some strength and help prevent wheel hop.

The last point is what brought me here... Does anyone know of a vendor that sells a proven bushing replacement for the single front mount of the rear diff? I'd be looking for polyurethane or delrin or something harder than stock but not quite solid aluminum.

I've searched a variety of permutations of terms and thus far come up dry. Do folks just not screw with their diff mounts when used in truck applications?

Regards,
Joel Payne

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Funny how car projects lead us to all ends of the internet isn't it? Short story... I work as a mechanical engineer in Southern California and drive a Chevy LS1 powered Mazda RX7 rocking Nissan 350z brakes.

I'm looking to upgrade my IRS to the excellent 31 spline 8.8 diff found in the explorers (what's one more manufacturer after all?) This is being done both to help my available gear ratios, add some strength and help prevent wheel hop.