Help! Wire routing question for aux driving lts. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Help! Wire routing question for aux driving lts.

Hey guys..fairly new to the forum, and I'm hoping someone here can help me..2012 Explorer XLT, and I am installing a set of PIAA driving lights, and being an electrician by trade, am fine with all the wiring/ relay, ect., in itself..But NOT being a mechanic (lol) I am trying to figure out the best way to route my switchleg from inside the cab to the engine compartment where I am mounting the relay..I literally only need one wire, as the switch can be grounded right inside the cab as well, and I am feeding it from a switched 12V pwr source in the cab as well. Anyone ever try this, i.e. feeding a wire through the stock wiring bundle that goes through the firewall? Any ideas? I'd rather not drill any holes if I don't have to_pretty tight in there! Thanks for any ideas

Welcome to the site.

In newer vehicles, it can be tough to find a pass-through point, since most of the wires are often bundled together tightly, wrapped with multiple layers of tape, and apparently stuck to the large rubber firewall grommet they go through.

Sometimes you can use an awl or sharp pick between the wiring and the grommet to make a tiny space to get a wire through, but you need to be careful since you can also puncture the grommet instead. Some people do intentionally puncture the grommet when passing larger wires through, then seal up the hole with RTV silicone.

You can also use the old trick of sticking something like a coathanger or other metal rod through, taping the wire to it, then pulling it back through. Again, care needs to be taken not to puncture or tear the grommet when doing this.

You might also look around the firewall for the smaller grommets, there's usually one or two other wiring pass-through points and the smaller ones might have more space or just be easier to get to.