• Register Today It's free!

Help with SAS

David89

Reaction score
City, State
Libertyville, IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
Hey guys i'm still new with this custom work, so i need some help with my SAS. I got a 78 jeep wagoneer D44, i'm rebuilding it right now and just finished painting it jet black. I got the perches, now i just don't know what springs to get. Should i get lift kit springs or stockers, i want my X to sit pretty high like on 39s or 40s, but still use a 1st gen steering box and not have a HUGE driveshaft angle. Any ideas???? :thumbsup:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

That will be pushing the limits of the 44. If im correct (and im not sure) the wagoneer axle is the weaker of D44's.

I would start looking at the Solid Axle build ups in this section of the forum.

Here are some good ones and mine:
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=135596
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=181186
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=131813
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=139094
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=173855
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=175126

Read these go from there. Study Study Study before you take on this project. If you do you will be fine if you have ok fab skills.

Well i'm pretty committed to this now and i wanted to stick to springs, causes its cheaper. What is weaker about it?

I dont want you to quote me on that. It may be that there are some part availability issues or something. I just cant place it right now.