Hey! Newbie here with a few questions... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Hey! Newbie here with a few questions...

1997_5.0

Reaction score
City, State
Georgetown Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 ExplorerXLT
Hey everyone, My name is Ryan, and I live in Central Texas. I am 16 years old, and looking for a good reliable first car. A good friend of ours is selling his 1997 Ford Explorer, with 123,000 miles. Its a 5.0L. So, Is it ok to buy an Explorer with that many miles? How dependible are they/ how long do they last. It has always been serviced at the Ford dealership, and never abused.

Couple of questions:
On the sides of the back glass, the paint has faded off and is now almost bare metal. What is the best paint for this?
Also, the cruise control buttons are badly worn and cracked, I found a new set on e-bay for a good price, but how hard is it to remove the airbag?
Lastly,
Neither of the power mirrors work, and the fuse is good, so what should I check next?

I will post pictures tommorow if anyone is interested.

Thanks!
Ryan

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome. I just bought my explorer a few months ago and it had 198,000 on it. I bought it because of the way it runs. When I looked at it I knew it needed some work but so far it has been a smart buy. It is paid for, if things break there are enough of them in the junk yard that parts are usually pretty easy to find and it gets me where I need to be. So you have to take it for a ride and see if it is one you like and if it is good for what you need.
Not sure about the paint.