High Flow Cat's | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

High Flow Cat's

Hello everyone its me again. I was wondering where i could find a High Flow Cat for my truck which at the moment has 4. Well the truck is a LEV ( Low Emissions Vehicle ) so whenever i got my Flowmaster i blew a sensor in it and like 3 months later another one went. I was still under warrenty and they fixed it both times. I Hate when they do that because that freaking Check Engine Light comes on. Well who makes a single high flow cat for my truck i don't know where to start. On Steeda there is a Bassani one for a SOHC 4.0L Ranger would that work. Thanks in advance.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Since you have 4, I'd recommend getting 2 parallel CarSound units. CarSound is Magnaflow and they're cats are very good.

Just call around to your local exhaust shops and see who carries them and have them custom installed.

Oh, also Johhny you need to have Brian at Apten work his magic on your dhip. He can turn off those sensors so you don't have to worry about them.

Naw thats alright i got the guys at Panhandle Performance to tune it and turn stuff off. It was a Problem that waseasily fixed i just don't want to turn off any sensor's that might come in handy later on. Back on topis is there a single cat setup i can order form like a company that replaces all the piping.

Have you looked under the truck to see how your exhaust is routed?

You have 2 parallel tracts: header through 2 cats, then both into the muffler. You need at least 2 cats unless you want a new single-in muffler. And you'd need to have a collector Y-pipe made to join both headers.

Much better IMO to get 2 good cats and leave them parallel.