How many miles will an explorer go for? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How many miles will an explorer go for?

bobbyg123

Reaction score
City, State
Duvall, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
04 EB
We've all heard about the dreaded reliability reports concerning the Explorer. Transmission problems, electrical malfunctions, and even safety related problems have hurt the Explorers reputation in the National media. With that said, it's still the #1 selling SUV for 15 consecutive years which helps to explain some of those reports.

My wife and I have twins on the way (due in March) and I'm looking to purchase an SUV sometime this summer. I'm an outside salesman and I put 20K miles/year on my vehicles. Since my company pays for gas & mileage, I will keep the Explorer for the first 3 years of its life before passing it on to my wife. Finally, I get to my question. How many miles can we expect to get out of the Explorer before it becomes too costly to keep on the road? Say what you want about Japanese vehicles, but when you purchase a Honda or Toyota you know you're good for 200K worry free miles. Will we be able to get 200K miles out of a Ford engine? I'm prepared to put "some" money into it, and I would prefer to purchase an American vehicle, but I don't want something where the engine falls out after 100K miles.

I guess I'm looking for some Ford success stories. :)

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!