How to bypass rear seatbelt monitors | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How to bypass rear seatbelt monitors

Reaction score
City, State
Los Angeles CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 XLT 4WD
Being that in the last 10 years of owning mid size SUVs I have never used my rear seats for passengers, I've decided to remove the 2nd and 3rd row seats and build out a nice cargo area (I'm a contractor and carry tools and materials all the time) and also a flat/level deck for sleeping on when I'm overnight at the racetrack or camping. I've laid some 3/4 plywood from front to rear over the backs of the seats but with the new slanted roofline the "fold flat" rear seating is now on a pretty good slant to the rear as well and I slide down to the rear all night, as do my tool boxes when I accelerate. I had built up the rear of the plywood as a test but its a sloppy solution at best. So out went the seats!

Seats were removed a couple days ago (3 seats on row 2 and 3rd row bench) and I get constant dash messages for "rear belt monitor fault". I expected this from the beginning but I'd like to know if there's some hack for getting the message to not pop up.

There's 3 individual wiring connectors for the 2nd row and 1 for the 3rd row. I'm assuming the interceptor Explorers have achieved this sensor delete since they remove the stock seats when they customize them.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I don't know what resistance, but some type of resistor should bypass the system. Can you detach the female ends of the seatbelts from the seats, reattach them to the electrical and set them under the plywood?