How to mount a roof rack? | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

How to mount a roof rack?

JTX

Explorer Addict
Joined
April 24, 2003
Messages
2,446
Reaction score
4
City, State
New Mexico
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 xlt
I just got my roof rack done and im not sure how im goona mount it. I dont have a stock roof rack to use. Any ideas would be great. Thanks
 
<

Join the Elite Explorers $20 Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




JPA1982

Well-Known Member
Joined
December 8, 2002
Messages
568
Reaction score
0
City, State
Austin, TX for now
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 XLT V8 AWD
well i don't know how u built it, but u might look at after market racks and how they mount up, surcoinc.com , i have a surco safari rack, something like that should be easy enough but u might have to drill holes in ur rack, worth a look, the mount kits like mine are 30
 
<



AniGamor

Active Member
Joined
January 23, 2004
Messages
60
Reaction score
0
City, State
Lake Jackson, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
'91 Sport 4x4
I installed a yakima roof rack on the roof of my explorer since it didn't come with a factory rack. It was pretty straight forward, you just have to have the guts to drill holes in your roof and not go through the liner. Yakima has these things called plusnuts you use to attach it, but I just riveted it. Use lots of silcone to avoid rust/waterleaks
 
<



boaterboy204

Active Member
Joined
August 27, 2003
Messages
93
Reaction score
0
City, State
charleston, sc
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 ltd
you dont have to drill through do you? i just installed a yakima system with the "q towers", it just clips, i dont have to drill....i know the "control towers" require drilling if a factory rack isnt already installed, but the q's dont...
 
<



prozachappy

Well-Known Member
Joined
April 28, 2002
Messages
309
Reaction score
0
City, State
SoCal
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 explorer...sportster
I didn't have a factory roof rack before installing my safari rack...so I went down to the junkyard and pulled a factory roof rack off an X for about 20 bucks. Took it home, installed the factory runners on my roof and then mounted my safari rack. Like above just be sure and use lots of silicone for the holes...and you'll be set!!!
 
<



Top