How to: Replace a thermostat on a 1996 4.0L OHV V6. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How to: Replace a thermostat on a 1996 4.0L OHV V6.

Charlie

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Wisconsin
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Limited
Well, after replacing my thermostat I decided to do a write up on it. If you are needing to replace your thermostat, I highly recommend doing it yourself. It is easy to do, and very cheap.

Note: This is for the 4.0 OHV, not SOHC

First, a general disclaimer: I am not a Ford engineer, and do not work for Ford. Anything that you do, you do at your own risk.

Now to start. It should take about an hour to complete this, but giving yourself plenty of time is the first step. The tools I used are very common, and can be found just about anywhere.

Before you start, drain all of your coolant out of the car. This will make your life a lot easier down the road.

IMG_0789.jpg

Tools used:
3/8" Drive ratchet
3/8" 2" drive extender
3/8" to 1/4" drive reducer
1/4" drive ratchet
10mm socket
8mm socket
Flathead screwdriver (not pictured)

Parts needed: Thermostat
New coolant

Now, where is the thermostat located?
IMG_0794.jpg

IMG_0793.jpg

It is on the end of the hose going to both the engine block and the radiator. It is where the hose bolts onto the block.

First off: The intake needs to go. Take off the latch for the filter, unplug the 2 plugs in the intake, and pull the vacuum line out. Now, unscrew the hose clamp with the flathead screwdriver, and remove intake.
IMG_0791.jpg

Now there is that throttle cable cover there. That needs to be removed. Take you 8mm socket, and remove the 2 bolts holding that on.