How to: Replace Fuel pressure regulator 1995- 2001 Ford Explorer 2nd Gen | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How to: Replace Fuel pressure regulator 1995- 2001 Ford Explorer 2nd Gen

artgod33

Reaction score
City, State
Patriot Nation
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 Eddie Bauer
I love cars... but I hate working on them.

It's not even so much that I don't like working on them it's that I don't know what I'm doing and I'm clumsy and oafy and just not good at working in tight spots.

That being said... I work for a living and cant' afford to always send my truck to the shop every time something’s wrong.

So here is my Noob to noob instructions on my project last night replacing the Fuel Pressure Regulator on my 96 Explorer Eddie Bauer 5.0.

I didn't take pics which I didn't think of until 3/4 of the job was already done so sorry about that I’ll try to explain everything as thoroughly as possible..

Fuel Pressure Regulator Replacement

1) After finding out my fuel pressure was low, I decided to try the easier fixes of fuel filter and fuel pressure regulator to boost the pressure before trying to replace the fuel pump (again). AutoZone $45 in stock

2) Taking a look at the regulator it seems about as easy as can be to install 2 bolts (7mm) holding it on a vacuum plug on top and too nozzles that plug into the fuel rail.

3) I picked up a Hayne's manual (AutoZone $20 in stock) to help with this and future fixes. The Manual says the FPR is "Easily" located in front of the firewall behind the block. While I will say it is "easy" to find it is by no means "EASY" to get into.

If you follow your air intake after the throttle body the intake moves to the right into the block if you kept going straight you'll see the top of the FPR in between the firewall and the intake. It's set down a few inches and there is an inch thick wiring bundle on top of it.

4) Now the first thing I think I should address is how to get at this part.