I need help. Someone check me please | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

I need help. Someone check me please

I wired up my fog lights according to the directions in a kit I have but they're not working. It's seems like the lights aren't getting power. The switch does seem to get power though.

I have the black power wire hooked up to terminal 30/51 on the relay. The other end is hooked up to the battery. Terminal 86 I have grounded on the battery. Terminal 85 is hooked up to the switch. Terminal 87 is hooked to the fog lights. The fog lights are grounded on the bumper beam and the body.

The switch's power is hooked up to the wiper motor power. The switch is grounded using a ground wire from the fog wiring harness. The switch seems to be getting power as it lights up.

I got a new relay and tried that to make sure the relay wasn't bad but no dice. I'm not an electrical engineer but I can't figure out any reason why it shouldn't be working. I'm confounded.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

For reference I have attached a picture I made of a typical Driving or Fog light wiring schematic. As you can see it is very similiar to your instructions. I have read your post and your wiring seams to be correct except I cannot determine if your switch is sending power or ground to the relay. The relay only needs 2 wires to make it work (click) 85-power, and 86-ground. The other wires 30 and 87 just sit there and get connected together when the relay is powered.

To Test the relay:
1) Fog switch to OFF (we want to eliminate it from our test)