i need some help on fixing my 1998 ford explorer eddie bauer v8 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

i need some help on fixing my 1998 ford explorer eddie bauer v8

justison

Reaction score
its makeing a chuging kinda sound i think its coming from the back of the engine and its got no pull to it the best it can do it 2mph up small inclines and like 30-40 mph on flat i checked the vacum lines but they dont golt leaks i was thinking somfin like maybe wher the exhaust conects to the engine
came un dun or is cracked but wold that make it louse its power like that?
or just acount for the chuging sound im a bit of a novice still but i under stand how most of it woorks under the hood and i got a Haynes repair manual for it but its not very specific for whut my suv is doing i wold like to have some mor facts befor i get under the thing and start takeing stuff off so i can get to the back of the engine to see whuts makeing that sound its kinda cold out side atm so i dont wana do somfin that might just be useless and get frost bite for it this the onley transportation i got atm and i kinda need it and
i kinda wold hate to hav to get rid of it iv had it for the past 5 years and its surved me well.....till now

i hope i posted this in the right place.....

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

These engines are practically indestructible. Is yours very high mileage? Any history of overheating, oil starvation, repairs?
Your description sounds like base engine problem. Perhaps a stuck valve or lifter, skipped timing chain, or something like that. I would start this with a simple compression test and go from there.