I want to make my Explorer off road worthy. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

I want to make my Explorer off road worthy.

justjoe032

Reaction score
City, State
Tacoma
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 Explorer XL
hey so i just got a '96 xlt, manual trans explorer! its my first real car haha and i kinda want to get it prepped for some little off road action. i'm just a beginner haha. nothin big, no huge rocks or holes but just a little fun on weekends hah. i dont have a ton of money and my dad sure as hell won't fund it haha. so whats are some basic needs for off roading? lift? tires? shocks? etc.

thanks,
JOE

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

just get some all terrain tires if your just wanting to play around in the mud and have a good time offroad. Eventually a lift will be necessary if your wanting to try bigger obstacles but a good set of tires will get you started.
I miss the stock off roading days...

A good set of tow straps and mounting points (Tow hooks, d-rings and such) are a good start. They are relatively inexpensive and can save you a big headache if you do get stuck. A hi-lift jack is also a good investment. For about $60 you can have a decent off road lifting implement. :D Also, deflate your tires to about 15psi before heading off the pavement so you can get maximum traction.

A good set of tow straps and mounting points (Tow hooks, d-rings and such) are a good start. They are relatively inexpensive and can save you a big headache if you do get stuck. A hi-lift jack is also a good investment. For about $60 you can have a decent off road lifting implement. :D Also, deflate your tires to about 15psi before heading off the pavement so you can get maximum traction.

that's sound advice^