Installing replacement radio with backup camera | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Installing replacement radio with backup camera

Joe DeVola

Reaction score
City, State
AtL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 XLT
We bought my wife a car one year ago that has backup camera in it. I really like the backup camera feature and the bluetooth connectivity with one's cell phone for the hands free features and music playing that is stored on my phone. Can anyone recommend a manufacturer of replacement radios that combine the backup camera, phone connectivity, and standard radio?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have been using the Jensen VX7020 for a few years now, very good at entry level pricing. Comes with: Bluetooth, DVD, CD, AM/FM, Pandora, USB, AUX, NAV, and two AVIs. Camera, steering wheel interface, and Sirius XM module you purchase separately.

This is a touchscreen, and is at least as distracting as a smartphone.

There is an analog volume/mute knob.

Mounting in a 3G Explorer, the dash construction provides no shrouding, so sunlight severely reduces screen visibility. If you have the light colored leather seats this is even worse. Obviously the moon roof doesn't help either.

Really nice having the in dash navigation.

If you have an '05 with RES, you will lose functionality there. There is a work around if desired.

That's the basics, good and bad.

Crutchfield, excellent local company, excellent tech support, they have always been very helpful.

There's a lot that do that -- Pioneer, Kenwood, etc etc. You can get good help on chat or the phone with Crutchfield. Crutchfield: Car Stereo, Speakers, Home Theater, Pro Audio, 4k TV