Installing Subs/Amp to Factory Deck | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Installing Subs/Amp to Factory Deck

jonlyons78

New Member
Joined
August 13, 2004
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
City, State
San Diego, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 XLT
Hey all. I have a 98 xlt with a factory double deck cd/cassette player in my dash and i want to install subs into my explorer. I just dont know how to connect the amp to the factory deck. can anyone help please?????

thanks.
jon
 
<

Join the Elite Explorers $20 Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




03ExplorerSPT

Explorer Addict
Joined
November 28, 2001
Messages
1,206
Reaction score
0
City, State
Quincy, IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Sport XLT Premium
You need a line level converter I think it's called. It hooks up to the speaker wiring I think and has outputs on it for the amp. I"m not sure how hard it is to install though.
 
<



Mbrooks420

High Voltage.
Elite Explorer
Joined
February 2, 2002
Messages
12,083
Reaction score
2,519
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Mountaineer AWD
The converters are easy to install. Some very affordable crossovers come with high level inputs.
 
<



jonlyons78

New Member
Joined
August 13, 2004
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
City, State
San Diego, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 XLT
thanks. :cool:
 
<



CougarX

Explorer Addict
Joined
February 7, 2000
Messages
1,224
Reaction score
5
City, State
Louisville, Kentucky
Year, Model & Trim Level
'98 EB, '02 ST, '97 XLT
I'm not sure but i believe the factory headunits have a built in lowpass crossover to keep bass from the factory speakers. If this is the case then you won't get much bass from using line level inputs bc the low frequencies the sub needs is blocked before it ever reaches the speakers and therefore the amp.

I only say this because I tried to hook up an amp and sub to my factory headunit (Mach, dual media unit with factory sub in back) using both line level inputs from the rear speakers and trying to tap into the factory sub wiring with a set of RCAs and neither one produces much bass at all. You could turn the gain up on the amp but this still won't give you the low low frequencies that make a sub sound like a sub.

Your head unit could be different though. I know the factory premium HU is fairly complicated and probably doesn't adapt well to anything but stock.
 
<



DirtMcGirt

Well-Known Member
Joined
June 30, 2004
Messages
111
Reaction score
0
City, State
Kennett Square, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 XLT
lol u dont want line level converter, u want line out converter. And yes you can do it on stock explorer HU (i did the other day). All u do is tap into the Right rear +/- and the Left rear +/- and ground right behind the HU, and there u go, RCA's. Then just plug amp in on those RCA's and tap into fuse wire with remote turn on and all set. Just need to run power wire for amp.
 
<



CougarX

Explorer Addict
Joined
February 7, 2000
Messages
1,224
Reaction score
5
City, State
Louisville, Kentucky
Year, Model & Trim Level
'98 EB, '02 ST, '97 XLT
DirtMcGirt said:
lol u dont want line level converter, u want line out converter.

Just said it wrong, I meant the i used the high level inputs from the rear speakers since my amp has high level inputs, but the factory HU must have built in x-overs cause none of the lower frequencies come through there.

I also tried tapping into the wires that go to the factory amp/sub and running low level RCAs from there but the signal must be very weak or also have a x-over on it bc it sounds nothing like it should.
 
<



Top