Intermittent RPM Increase in OD, Cruise set @ 55 MPH(Symptoms & Fix) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Intermittent RPM Increase in OD, Cruise set @ 55 MPH(Symptoms & Fix)

SteveIDusa

Reaction score
City, State
Idaho
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Explorer XLT
I have been using the Forums for a couple of years now, just hiding in the Shadows and getting what I need to carry out the little chores that come up with any older used Vehicle, in this case it started with a 91 ranger(wrecked) and was replaced by a 1994 Explorer XLT...

Wanted to say Thanks for all of the great info that I have found here and repay with a quick run down of what I went thru and what fixed it for posterity's sake.

It started about a year ago, I have been searching and searching all over the net, even stopped at different Autoparts Stores, Local Garages, Transmission Shops and asked for input from those that would give it.

Symptom 1. Driving in to work (20 Mile Commute), Early Spring of the Year, 3/4 the way in with cruise set at 55 MPH, RPM's suddenly Jump up from 1500 or 1600 up to 2000 or 2100.

Symptom 2. Two months later, now getting closer to Summer, Starts Jumping up in RPM at around the 1/2 way mark in the Commute with cruise set at 55 MPH, Check Engine Light is now turning on occasionally when I go up a grade but goes off again once Level and no longer under load.

Symptom 3. Now into fall, It is Bumping up the RPM Early in the Drive within just a Mile or two after setting cruise at 55 MPH, any Load is causing Check engine Light to come on, but goes out again once level.

Symptom 4. Always Runs at Higher RPM when setting Cruise to 55 MPH, Check Engine Light still comes on under load and goes off. Going into a new spring, it has started to stumble from time to time, never dies, but stumbles, sometimes at a stop or light, others times it seems to struggle when accelerating.

Things that I tried to correct the issue: