• Register Today It's free!

I've got a shaky ride...

whimperingcat

Reaction score
City, State
Gainesboro, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'98 Sport
I have a 98 Explorer. My check engine light came on and was still driving fine so I didn't go to Auto Zone to get it diagnosed until the next day. When I started it up to leave it was shaking insanely bad. As I was driving I couldn't go over 30 or it would shake even worse. Auto Zone told me it was the mass air flow sensor. Bought the part, put it on, but it made no difference. I'm afraid to drive it any more in fear of the shaking damaging the engine. I'm a freelance photographer and I need the Explorer to haul all my gear, so any help with this will be greatly appreciated! THANKS!!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Is the shaking coming from the motor? i.e. firing on all cylinders?

Yes, it shakes while idle too, just nowhere near as bad as when I start driving.

Before this started it was a very smooth ride, no problems at all.

has it had a tune-up lately? Plugs and wires?

I planned on doing that next month. I've had a car in the past that had an oil leak that caused my spark plugs to foul out every few months, but it never shook like this. I don't even really know what to compare it to. It's just really bad. lol

Check the coolant level? Not just the reservoir, but the radiator too. You could be getting coolant in at least one cylinder, causing a miss. That could cause a plug to misfire. What codes didthey giveyou?

They didn't give me the codes, they just said the only code showing was the mass air flow sensor. Do you think a bad plug would cause the car to shake? Its a pretty violent shake... kinda like driving over a really rough terrain but it feels like the engine is being shook to death. lol