James Duff 2.5" installation review | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

James Duff 2.5" installation review

pgrey

Reaction score
City, State
San Francisco, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 XLT
Hi all,

I wanted to give you a review of the installation of the James Duff 2.5” lift kit.. I should say that I’ve been working on street cars, race cars and motorcycles for 30 years. I’ve also designed and fabricated a fair number of parts for my street and (winning) road race cars. My daily driver is a Volvo wagon with a 347 Ford V8 and Tremec that I installed (not using a kit). I have a lot of experience working on cars.

A couple of weeks ago I ordered the 2.5” lift for my ’92 Explorer and earlier this week I started the process of removing the old suspension components and replacing them with the kit. In all my time working on things automotive, I can’t remember an installation that has been more frustrating.

The bolts supplied with the kit, while of good quality, were too short to use with washers. Since they didn’t include any washers I suppose this made sense… There were no washers to be found in any of the bags of fastening hardware. Since the bolts supplied were often undersized for the factory holes, not using washers made even less sense than it normally would.

The bracket that bolts to the passenger side frame rail and serves as the mount for the left side of the IFS needed to be trimmed so it would clear some spot welded protrusions, and needed a spacer made so that it could sit flat on the frame rail.

The procedures outlined in the instructions made little sense. They were just horrible – some of the worst I’ve ever seen.

The radius arm bushings didn’t fit properly. I don’t know what vehicle they were supposed to fit, but it clearly wasn’t a ’92 Explorer. I used the poly bushings that I bought recently and was going to return.