• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Key fob programming

aldive

Elite In Memoriam
Joined
January 17, 2001
Messages
24,711
Reaction score
15
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
Today I attempted to program several new key fobs.

After cycling the ignition key from off to run 8 times ending in run, the locks did not unlock and lock to signify the programming mode.

Any ideas why this happened?

Thanks ....
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




rizzjc

Scubajoe - Radio Mod
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
July 13, 2005
Messages
3,882
Reaction score
16
Location
NC
City, State
Garner, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2019 F150
Callsign
N1LVN
Did you try again? Does your current remotes/alarm work? Did you try 9 times for good luck? I found that it really likes it to be smooth and fast, 8 times, no long pauses. I think it can be somewhat finicky.
 




aldive

Elite In Memoriam
Joined
January 17, 2001
Messages
24,711
Reaction score
15
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
Did you try again? Does your current remotes/alarm work? Did you try 9 times for good luck? I found that it really likes it to be smooth and fast, 8 times, no long pauses. I think it can be somewhat finicky.

Yes, I tried the provedure several times.

My current fob(s) work sometime but mostly don't function.
 




rizzjc

Scubajoe - Radio Mod
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
July 13, 2005
Messages
3,882
Reaction score
16
Location
NC
City, State
Garner, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2019 F150
Callsign
N1LVN
Mine stopped working, but I could still arm the alarm with the keypad, but not when I locked the doors with the power lock botton or the remote. This happened after I had the battery disconnected and the reconnected it. I picked up a new controller from ped5stang, swapped it out, programmed my fobs, and it works great again.
 




aldive

Elite In Memoriam
Joined
January 17, 2001
Messages
24,711
Reaction score
15
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
Mine stopped working, but I could still arm the alarm with the keypad, but not when I locked the doors with the power lock botton or the remote. This happened after I had the battery disconnected and the reconnected it. I picked up a new controller from ped5stang, swapped it out, programmed my fobs, and it works great again.

Thanks.

What is this controller you referr to?

My alarm set itself automatically.
 




rizzjc

Scubajoe - Radio Mod
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
July 13, 2005
Messages
3,882
Reaction score
16
Location
NC
City, State
Garner, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2019 F150
Callsign
N1LVN
If you have the factory alarm, then I assume that you mean when you lock the doors, etc, it sets itself. Yes, mine does too, until it stopped working. However, I could still set it with the door keypad, which I thought was strange. The controller is called the RAP, and I'm sure is the same in your '99, and is located on the back behind the trim in front of the jack. I think I was able to get to it without removing any trim.

Not saying this is the same problem you are having, but that was the eventual fix for mine when it started acting weird (i.e. fobs no longer worked, but alarm would set with the door panel only).
 




aldive

Elite In Memoriam
Joined
January 17, 2001
Messages
24,711
Reaction score
15
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
I cannot get in the programming mode.

HELP; any ideas or suggestions?

Does the RAP module control the programming?
 




rizzjc

Scubajoe - Radio Mod
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
July 13, 2005
Messages
3,882
Reaction score
16
Location
NC
City, State
Garner, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2019 F150
Callsign
N1LVN
Yes. The RAP module controls everything to do with the alarm, door locks, and programming of fobs. My thought originally was that if it went bad, nothing would work. I was wrong, replaced it, and all is well again.
 




aldive

Elite In Memoriam
Joined
January 17, 2001
Messages
24,711
Reaction score
15
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
Do you think it is possible that it is not allowing me to enter the programming mode?
 




JDraper

Somewhat Functional
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
January 11, 2001
Messages
15,304
Reaction score
16
City, State
McVeytown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'18 XLT
Did you 'electronically' unlock the vehicle first? IIRC, if you just use the key to open the door, the programming won't work. Also, did you get all 8 cycles in within 10 seconds?
 




rizzjc

Scubajoe - Radio Mod
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
July 13, 2005
Messages
3,882
Reaction score
16
Location
NC
City, State
Garner, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2019 F150
Callsign
N1LVN
When mine went out, the remote did not work, so I couldn't unlock with the remote. And when I replaced the module, I didn't have any remotes programmed to it, so it wouldn't work there either. So, I don't think you have to unlock it with the remote in order to program the remote (doesn't make sense, does it?).
 




rizzjc

Scubajoe - Radio Mod
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
July 13, 2005
Messages
3,882
Reaction score
16
Location
NC
City, State
Garner, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2019 F150
Callsign
N1LVN
I really think your RAP is dead. I got mine for something like $35, shipped.
 




Xan

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
788
Reaction score
8
City, State
Lincoln, NE
Year, Model & Trim Level
01, mountaneer
Are you making sure you're geting from 1(off/lock) all the way to 3(on)each time and ending in 3 with in 10secs? and before you start do you push the power door unlock butten? have you tryed reseting the computers by disconecting the neg cable for 5 sec
 




aldive

Elite In Memoriam
Joined
January 17, 2001
Messages
24,711
Reaction score
15
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
Did you 'electronically' unlock the vehicle first? IIRC, if you just use the key to open the door, the programming won't work.

Jeff, no I did not. However, I tried it that way after reading your post with the same result. It will not enter the programming mode.


Also, did you get all 8 cycles in within 10 seconds?

Yes.
 




zhanx

Explorer Addict
Joined
April 6, 2004
Messages
1,454
Reaction score
4
City, State
Up state NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 xls
aldive yours may be like mine, i got to speed racer it to get it to program a new fob or key.. Talking super fast takes me like 4 or 5 trys in a row to get it.
 




aldive

Elite In Memoriam
Joined
January 17, 2001
Messages
24,711
Reaction score
15
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
aldive yours may be like mine, i got to speed racer it to get it to program a new fob or key.. Talking super fast takes me like 4 or 5 trys in a row to get it.

Thanks for the hint; I shall give it a go tomorrow.
 








Ray Lobato

Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
February 8, 1999
Messages
4,604
Reaction score
6
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Honda Accord
Al,
When you are doing the on off thing, do you hear the locks clicking after the 5th time? If the door locks don't automatically lock,or unlock, then you are not in the program mode.
 




aldive

Elite In Memoriam
Joined
January 17, 2001
Messages
24,711
Reaction score
15
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
Al,
When you are doing the on off thing, do you hear the locks clicking after the 5th time? If the door locks don't automatically lock,or unlock, then you are not in the program mode.

Ray, its 8 cycles for my model year and NO, the locks do not cycle.

I havn't a clue what to do next.
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




Ray Lobato

Moderator
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
February 8, 1999
Messages
4,604
Reaction score
6
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Honda Accord
Al,
Well if they don't cycle, then it's not in program mode and it won't work.
Have you checked out the connections to the RAP module yet?
Try reconnecting them and see if maybe it's not a corrosion problem on the terminals. Maybe a bad RAP module? Other than that, I really wouldn't know. Sorry.
 




Top