led brake lights switched brightness-park/brake | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

led brake lights switched brightness-park/brake

i bought some 31 led red 3157 tail lights for my truck and the only problem i have with them are,
when i brake, they are as bright as park lights!
but when i put park lights on, they are bright as braking lights!
-and with the park lights on, it overrides the brake light signal and stays full on

ive read the led pages and couldnt find someone with that problem anyone know what to do? is there a resistor or something i need?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Just off hand it sounds like the brake & park light wires are reversed. BUT, I'm no expert on LEDs. Email the place you got them from & see what they say.

Just off hand it sounds like the brake & park light wires are reversed. BUT, I'm no expert on LEDs. Email the place you got them from & see what they say.

well thats where im thinking i threw ten bucks away- they are from ebay , and a chinese like seller :rolleyes: the lights only work one way-if you put the bulb in backwards it wont light at all

Do the brake lights/blinker get brighter when they're on? I had that problem on my truck and found out I had to run an inline resistor.

Do the brake lights/blinker get brighter when they're on? I had that problem on my truck and found out I had to run an inline resistor.

if i have my parkklights on, my brake lights dont override them- because the park lights are as bright as normal brake lights and with park lights off the brake lights are only as bright as park lights...

Those LED bulbs are a joke.

99.9% of the time something goes wrong with them, besides my taurus, ive never seen/had a pair i was satisfied with, that fully replaced my stock halogens.