Left turn big grinding noise | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Left turn big grinding noise

Reaction score
This is 98 explorer, 6 cylinder, 4wd, eddi bauer. I am a new driver, knowing nothing about car. When I make a left turn, at first, there is no noise. But, when I turn the wheel close to the left end, there is a big grinding noise. No noise is heard during right turn. It just happen this two weeks.
Anyone has the same problem?
What is the problem? thank you so much.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Check the front wheel bearings. If when you go straight there is no grinding, then your bearings on one wheel are bad.

Nope, it definitely sounds like a wheel bearing. Get a mechanic to open it up and see. I believe it's your right wheel bearing I think if you turn left and it grinds. Wheel bearings always go bad on this car.

The truck doesn't throw any codes unless the check engine light is on. When it comes to problems like that the only way to go about solving them is to physically check it out.

Jack up the front end and grab the tire at 12 and 6 and wiggle it.. if there is ANY play in the wheel you have a bad bearing. It also wouldn't hurt to check your brakes and make sure it isn't a rotor or dust shield rubbing against something. My guess is your hub bearing.

Sorry to butt in here but, I've got a similar grinding noise somewhere in the axles/bearings/drivetrain of my 1998 Merc Mountaineer AWD. Maybe someone else has had the same problem.