Looking to buy '98 explorer 4x4, but no keys | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Looking to buy '98 explorer 4x4, but no keys

Kevin311

Reaction score
City, State
North Carolina
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Ford Explorer XLT
So I've done some research, but I think I've read too much and confused myself. Truck is only $200 bc the guy has lost his keys and I talked him out of junking it. Problem is it's PATS equipped I believe. I'm new to PATS as my '97 explorer isn't so equipped.

I'm thinking of just changing out all PATS related components from a salvage truck o the same year. I found two in my local salvage yard that still have original PATS key. Question is how much needs to be swapped over? I know the key, lock cylinder, the module around the key cylinder, and I believe the PCM as well. I've read about a module or receiver either bein behind the pass airbag or in the driver side rear interior panel. Just want to get the truck running and see if it's worth anymore time/money invested. My local pick and pull is very cheaply priced, and I've read dealers are rather expensive, the tow bill alone would be more than I paid for the truck.

Thanks in advance!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Its only the keys you are missing? And im guessing its the security system you are worried about primarily (not great with all the abbreviations yet) but if that is so you can go to the dealer and they can make a key off of the vin itself sometimes so you dont have to change anything at all.

Sorry if i am confused on the original issue but this is what i thought you were talking about.