Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Atlanta, GA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2021 Explorer ST
Callsign
N4DRE
Not sure if this belongs in the tech or stock board. I just purchased a 2020 ST with the premium tech pkg. Bought it from a dealership 4 hrs from my house. About halfway home I started getting the annoying Waze / CarPlay bug and the massaging seats just stopped working. I can go into seat settings and the button is there, but when I press it nothing happens.

I have tried a reboot and even a factory reset of the Sync 3 system. No dice.

Here is a video showing the behavior:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Why not take it to the dealer for warranty.....

I will assuming it isn't something simple that someone has seen before. Being an engineer I like trying to solve technical problems myself before admitting defeat lol

Mine did this once but fixed itself on the next restart of the vehicle. Screen wouldn't turn them on and the button on the side of the seat adjustment wouldn't so it either. Disconnect your negative battery terminal for 5 min and reconnect, see if that hard resets it.

No dice :(. Looks like it will be going to the service dept. Not reassuring for a vehicle I've owned a day lol

Figured it out!!!

Somehow the same Waze / Apple CarPlay bug that is affecting our volume control was wreaking havoc with the massaging seats. As soon as I force-closed Waze on my iphone I could turn the seats back on. If I restarted Waze it wouldn't let me turn them off. Killed Waze...could turn them off.

Force-closing Waze also fixed the volume issue. I made a quick and dirty video showing the audio bug and how to fix it for those that may not be super tech savvy. Once I get it sliced together and uploaded I'll make a separate post for it.

Glad you got it figured out.

73's Peter