Mounty gauge cluster | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Mounty gauge cluster

anikek

New Member
Joined
January 21, 2012
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
City, State
Paducah, KY
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Explorer Limited
I have looked around the forum and haven't found a clear answer. If I buy a mounty cluster, will it function normally, like the dummy lights? Also will the odometer reading be correct or will it take the mileage of the new cluster?
Thanks in advance for your replies.
 
<

Join the Elite Explorers $20 Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




waskly

Explorer Addict
Joined
August 21, 2010
Messages
2,190
Reaction score
3
City, State
Crooklyn NY!
od will be w/e you buy it with, if from a junk yard w/e the mileage is of that cluster.
 
<



not8taxi

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 26, 2006
Messages
586
Reaction score
0
City, State
queens, ny
Year, Model & Trim Level
02 XLT
you have to find the same year as your truck or the one that would work...if you have the message center then you would have to find that one...if you just have the mileage and the temp guage then you would have to go for that one...

only thing to make it work is that you would have to swap out your electronic board of the cluster that reads the mileage and plugs into the harness into the new mounty cluster...you need to take each of the clusters apart and swap over the board to make it work...hope that helps
 
<



Kazer

Explorer Addict
Joined
March 13, 2010
Messages
1,656
Reaction score
2
City, State
Sneads Ferry, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Excursion PSD
Here is the thread on swapping the clusters

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=218636

i swapped mine out for a Mounty cluster that has 4x4 high HIGH and then AWD LOCK which lights up when my 4x4 low is engaged. My truck doesn't have the message center, but the cluster i swapped in does.

Any mounty cluster( With or without message center or 4x4 high lights) will work as long as you swap the internal digital read out.

Here is mine. The bottom cluster is a combination of an explorer cluster, with the explorer needles, and the Mounty face plate. That was my attempt at a cluster swap before i found the write up. It was terrible and the needles fell down when the truck was off and none of them were right because i had to pull them off and re attach them after i swapped the face plate. The top is my second attempt, a full Mounty cluster with all of the dummy lights fully functional

IMAG0395.jpg
 
<



<



Top