My 2017 Limited (with Sony audio) speaker upgrade. Thoughts.. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

My 2017 Limited (with Sony audio) speaker upgrade. Thoughts..

someidiot

Reaction score
City, State
Nashville
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Limited 3.5L
I'd really like to thank MM07 for his excellent write-up and the pictures he posted in his audio upgrade thread: 2018 Explorer Speaker Install

He was also kind enough to answer my questions. I am an absolute car audio novice (I replaced a head unit in a car about 20 years ago.. that's the extent of my experience) and was intimidated by this. He convinced me to proceed. I listen to a lot of rap, rock, and dubstep and my main complaint was the lack of bass in the system. I initially wanted to just replace the sub, but it seemed easy enough to just replace everything, so I went ahead and replaced everything.

I did some research about upgrading speakers with the relatively low-power stock audio system. From what I read, it seems that "sensitivity" is one of the most important numbers you want to look at when choosing new speakers, with a higher number being better. I was looking to combine cost with quality, and ended up buying pretty much the exact same speakers as MM07 did.

One of my main concerns was the need to solder new wires. I've never done this. I chose to purchase most of my parts from Crutchfield for the free harnesses and mounts. Some modifications had to be made (see MM07's thread about the need to splice wires and bring them out through different holes in the door). My solution was to use solder/heat shrink connectors. All you do it heat them and it solders and heat shrinks at the same time, with a solid connection. Also very affordable.

Here's what I used. You'll see that these are almost identical to MM07's speakers
Center dash speaker - Kicker 46CSC354 CS Series 3-1/2" 2-way car speakers at Crutchfield