MY TRUSTY 2002 Explorer Sport has been vandalized. Need some help patching her up please... | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

MY TRUSTY 2002 Explorer Sport has been vandalized. Need some help patching her up please...

howster01

Reaction score
City, State
San Antonio
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Explorer Sport 2WD
Hello all,

It's been awhile since I posted here. I've been traveling for the past several years for work and now finally back home for a bit. Yesterday I found my beloved 2002 Sport torn and tattered by some obvious punk who tried to steal her away from me. For some reason he was unsuccessful, most obviously because she was still parked where I put her last, but also because there was blood and an igniton cylinder that he was unsuccessful at removing completely.

So a quarter window, PAT sensor, shrouds, and a new ignition cylinder will need to be replaced. Thing is the ignition cylinder will not accept the key because it is totally destroyed. There are metal fragments I am unable to removed and the slot where the key would go is bent and mangled. I was able to straighten it out some, but not enough to get the key inside so I could remove the cylinder the correct way. So I need some help.