[Need Advise] replace lower control arms by myself(newbie) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

[Need Advise] replace lower control arms by myself(newbie)

xz96

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 explorer sports 2wd
Mechanic told me both front lower control arms are bad, including ball joints and need replacement.

i have a 2wd 2dr 99 ex

He charges $720, including parts, labor and alignment. is it a fair price?if not, what price should i be looking for?

how many hours does it usually take to replace two lower control arms and balljoints?

I'm also considering do it myself.
I'm on budget and trying to save every penny. I've never done any car repair before...I just learned how to change tires and how to check engine oils.

1. I don't have a garage to work on my truck, my apartment has rules against it. (my plan is to do it in parking lot outside auto parts store)

2. I don't have any tools, not even a jack stand...(my plan is to rent all the tools from auto parts store)

3. I have no idea how to do it.
I'm willing to learn, but how hard is it going to be for a newbie like me?
I don't have a second vehicle nor do my friends, so I don't want to stuck or break anything in the middle of the repair.
Is it going to be those jobs that can be easily done following youtube tutorial or forum posts?
I checked the "how to"thread but only found lower balljoints and upper control arm replacement...I couldn't find lower control arms tutorials (i found one for 3nd gen ex though, don't know if it's same)

And for the parts, I heard that MOOG make good suspension parts,
I did some research and found these on amazon:
1.Moog CK620319
http://www.amazon.com/Moog-CK620319...&qid=1405389049&sr=8-1&keywords=MOOG-CK620319

2.Moog RK620320
http://www.amazon.com/Moog-RK620320...&qid=1405389032&sr=8-1&keywords=MOOG-RK620320

total is around $200