• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Need dimensions for shifter arm on manual BW-1354 transfer case

jwv3

Member
Joined
January 22, 2008
Messages
65
Reaction score
1
City, State
Delaware
Year, Model & Trim Level
92 xlt
I need the shifter arm that is bolted to the shaft on the BW-1354 manual transfer case. Tried to find one, posted wtb but no luck.

If someone could help me out with a few dimensions I could make one. Just to clarify, I need the small shifter arm that is bolted to the shaft on the BW-1354 manual transfer case. I have the shifter linkage that bolts to the tranny/comes up through the floor. Just need to make the small arm on the transfer case.
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




Happy Jack

Active Member
Joined
June 5, 2004
Messages
743
Reaction score
4
City, State
Wichita, KS
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 Sport
I don't have deminsions or a part number but if you send me an e-mail I can send a pic of one. Did you try a larger t-case rebuilder? A transmission parts supplier? I only have one that is on my 1354 in my BII and I need it. Pic 5 on this link: http://www.mappyjack.com/Shifter.htm is not a good pic of the lever but shows the difference in the 1354 lever when attached to a trans that used a shifter for a 1350 with the short lever. I have a better pic of the lever by itself if it will help you to locate one. Just let me know. Good luck.
 




jwv3

Member
Joined
January 22, 2008
Messages
65
Reaction score
1
City, State
Delaware
Year, Model & Trim Level
92 xlt
Thanks, the one pictured in the 5th pic down is what I need. Hoping someone might have a t-case sitting around and could take a couple measurements for me. If I had distance between pin centers and amount of offset I could duplicate it.

I'll try calling some trans parts suppliers. Any names of places to try? I've dealt with T&B transmission for m5od-r1 parts.
 




Happy Jack

Active Member
Joined
June 5, 2004
Messages
743
Reaction score
4
City, State
Wichita, KS
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 Sport
Thats gonna be hard to make as the bolt is slotted and getting the slot to hold the pin in the correct location will be tough. I don't have the long straight lever anymore to compare to see if the slot is in the same location. I know the pin index is different between the short straight and the long straight so it is not possible to just shorten a straight long lever to make a short straight.

I use these guys: http://www.areds.com/ and these: http://www.fisherstransmissions.com/

You might try car-part.com for salvage yards that have 1354 t-cases. One might sell just the lever.
 




jwv3

Member
Joined
January 22, 2008
Messages
65
Reaction score
1
City, State
Delaware
Year, Model & Trim Level
92 xlt
Still looking for dimensions. Someone must have one in their garage they could measure for me.

Thanks
 




IZwack

Moderator Emeritus
Joined
February 5, 2003
Messages
21,771
Reaction score
24
City, State
Germantown, MD
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Ford Explorer
The tab isnt exactly 1/4" thick - its a bit thinner. But thats probably due to the stamping process which stretches the metal.
1354_shiftertab.gif
 




jwv3

Member
Joined
January 22, 2008
Messages
65
Reaction score
1
City, State
Delaware
Year, Model & Trim Level
92 xlt
Excellent! Thank you very much.
 




SuRrEaLNJ

hail to the king, baby!
Elite Explorer
Joined
June 12, 2005
Messages
2,711
Reaction score
8
City, State
out of my mind...
Year, Model & Trim Level
MUNK 07 Focus 97 XL1200C
i had that same problem a lil bit back, wound up buying a spare t-case that had one
 




Top