Need Help 94 XLT overheating problem | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Need Help 94 XLT overheating problem

Zelix

Reaction score
City, State
Georgia
Year, Model & Trim Level
94 Explorer
I have had the radiator,and rusted out freeze plugs replaced at a repair shop. It still runs hot. I have since bought a JEEP so I don't have to drive the EXplorere. I have a ton of money in the vehicle and want to keep it. It is a nice ride for trips.

I am thinking of replacing the water pump, head gaskets, getting the heads professionally shaved.

What other water related items should I be looking at?
Thanks in advance..

BTW: I'm not good at mechanicing, but I have people in the know on stand-by to help if needed.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Has the thermostat been replaced or checked? This could cause it to overheat. Check your oil to see if there it looks like chocolate milk. This would be a good indication of a bad head gasket.

Has the thermostat been replaced or checked? This could cause it to overheat. Check your oil to see if there it looks like chocolate milk. This would be a good indication of a bad head gasket.

The themostate was replaced ( if the radiator dude actually did it, charged me for it) with the radiator.

I'll check the oil. We done a cylinder compression test and found good compression on all the cylinders. It's kind of a mystery.

What would cause freeze plugs to rust out? I'd never heard of that before.