• Register Today It's free!

need help got questions and codes

The_Phoenix

Reaction score
City, State
maricopa, az
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Ford Explorer xlt
Hi guys im new to the foorum, and trying to save this truck from the scrap pile. Lol anyhoot I by oy the low down, 1994 explorer bought it for 1000 thought it was a steel but it feels like it has a miss, replaced typical tune up stuff including a coil steal missing, I have another problem it doesn't like to downshiftt when coming to a stop here is the codes. KOEO
335-egr 336-egr/ exhaust psi high 337-egr 536-brake light switch

KOER
336- egr 411- cant control rpm 538- insufficent rpm

Please help ive kinda figured egr is screwed but any help is appreciated

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

335, 336, 337 are all related to the same thing.

The DPFE sensor needs to be replaced: common failure, get the lifetime warranty; you will be replacing this as often as twice a year.

28a2fddd-2f2e-4fa3-adf5-060825a6dae4_zps863293bd.jpg

The part number for this is EGR 151, You can covert it to the later model EGR 155 or 153 I can't remember; but it is the one with a oval plug not the "D" shaped plug. This conversion makes this repair last for years and years.

Most AP stores sell it as a kit that comes with the plug with pig tail to do the swap: the one in the pic is the conversion.

NOTE: It could just be the hoses. If you have to replace the hoses use high temp silicone hoses; rubber vacuum or fuel line will melt.

This will clear up your rough running.

411, and 538. Ignore those; During the test inputs are required from the driver, if you don't time it right you get those codes.

Thanks for the help ill definitely give those a try I think I have a bad head gasket did a tune up now its smoking white kinda gray any thoughts